Our Research Concentration

DCT’s undergraduate program emphasizes on the student’s understanding and practice ability of integrated digital media. Based on the three cultivation goals of “literacy”, “theory” and “skill”, DCT has two professional core curriculums in “media culture” and “communication technology”.Each field can connect and complement each other and is fulfilled by professional faculty through class design, research projects, teaching methods, etc.  


reasearch fields focus on media culture and communication technology

 

* Media and Mass Communication

      Mass Communication is a filed which concern about how to improve the public communication and public welfare. It's a popular research field since the communication studies has been developed. The example such as political communication and news industry research are two typical issues in this field. Even nowadays, on the one hand, mass communication has developed into focusing on diverse aspects from production and industry to service and audience. Issues such as environment and ethncity have also boomed in the near decades. On the other hand, with the communication technology innovation, audiences are not in the passive position but reverse into an active one and bring out the issues like civil journalism and digital journalism.

 * Media Industries Studies 

Due to the considerable profitability, media industries have become an important part of the economic system. Besides, the production and distribution of media industries are so influential that can affect other kinds of industries. Therefore, the issues media industries focusing on are not only the organization of different media companies, the environment of policies and law are also the interests if this research field. Moreover, as the globalization has been ubiquitous, media industries are not just about the domestic development but also about the global conglomerates. The main topics in this fields put the emphasis on the research such as media economics, political media economics, news industry research, media policies and regulations, global media markets and industries, etc.Media industries is one of the important fields which combine society and economics. 

 * Audience and Popular Culture 

      Audience and Popular Culture is talking about the roles that the audience play in the media and popular culture and the paradigm has been changed with its long history. In the early years, audiences are perceived as passive receptors or namely the dependent variables of the media effect research. However, in the recent years, the concepts of active audiences have been brought up in this field meaning audiences are capable of making their own decision and creating their own meaning. With the web 2.0 coming, audiences have transformed into the production position becoming “prosumer” instead. Audience studies has its own rich history and diversity including Use & Gratification, Interpretation, Fans, Audience as Commodities, Subcultures, Identities, etc. Since the social networking media and digital games have becoming popular around the world, the position and roles of audiences is still unstoppably changing which is still a popular issues to work on.

  * Interactive Science  

Interactive Science emphasize on the interaction mediated by the communication technology, using the innovative research methods to conduct the interaction process and effects (e.g. User Experience and Behavior) and moreover to develop an interaction system or media with high usability. It’s an interdisciplinary research field combining communication studies, cognitive psychology, sociology, information science and design, creating a field considering human-human, human-media, human-environment and human-culture interaction relationships and analyzing and solving the impact between human and technology. Besides, equipped with state-of-the-art facilities, such as Communication and Cognition Laboratory, Virtual Studio and Digital Media Center, the interaction science has become the first and the best research field in Taiwan. 

* Interactive Economics

  With the unstoppable Communication technology innovation, the media organization and communication process has been changed as well. The interactivity has become the new characteristics of every media and platform and therefore interactive economics has emerged as a new field for research. The interactivity economics which combines different knowledge background such as media economics, media management, and persuasive communication has become an emphasis of our research fields. Also with the synthesis with the theories and methodology of the “Interactivity Science,” the interactivity economics can talk about the communication process, distribution and consumption of the digital media.

* Entertainment Technology

   Based on the innovation and design of content and forms of the entertainment media, “entertainment technology” is a field emphasizing on the process and effect of entertainment technology. There are different levels to conduct research in this field, from psychological and physiological indicators to user/audience’s cognition, attitude and behavior; moreover it can be apply to the whole society and culture. Nowadays, the entertainment technology focus on digital games (including PC, TV, Mobile phone, and somatosensory games), social-networking sites, mobile device, and 3D television and how these technologies affect children, adults and the elderly. Besides, the research outcome of entertainment technology can become useful knowledge to apply on health communication and education. The related knowledge backgrounds include media psychology, cognitive psychology .

研究領域

  本系著重發展的優勢特色領域有二:媒體文化(包含媒體與公眾傳播、流行文化與閱聽人、媒體與產業研究等三個面向)及傳播科技(包含互動科學、娛樂科技、互動經濟等三個面向)。各領域之間彼此互補與互動,並延聘優秀師資。透過課程設計、整合研究計畫、教學觀摩等方法,讓兩大重點領域在觀點上互補、專長上互動,豐富本系教學研究生態與知識內涵。


研究特色領域

* 媒體與公眾傳播

  「公眾傳播」是指與公眾生活的各個重要面向相關,以促進社會公共溝通與提昇公眾福祉為目的的傳播活動。從傳播研究的發展初期開始,公眾傳播即是重要的研究領域,例如政治傳播與新聞報業研究。而隨著人類進入晚期現代社會,跨區域的文化與人口交流愈趨頻繁,社會運作重心從工業和生產逐漸擴大到服務與消費,以及各種生態環境和族群互動等問題層出不窮,公眾傳播的核心內涵也延伸到族群傳播、危機傳播、災難傳播、健康傳播等主題。另一方面因為晚近數位傳播科技的興起,公眾不再只是消極的閱聽人,參與及對話的機會增加,也增添了公民新聞與數位新聞等新興主題。

* 媒體與產業研究

  媒體作為一種產業,是當前社會與經濟的重要環節。不僅其本身的產值愈來愈大,對整體經濟的影響也不斷增加,構成所謂創意產業的核心;而且媒體產業也因為負責社會中各種資訊的生產與流通,成為其他所有產業部門順暢運作的必要條件。因此媒體產業的樣貌與生態,乃至於媒體運作的法律與政策環境,都是當代傳播研究相當重要的一環。再者,隨著全球化趨勢,媒體產業的探討已不限於一國一地,更需結合和掌握全球動態。此一領域包括媒體產業經濟學、媒體政治經濟學、新聞媒體產業研究、全球媒體生態與趨勢、媒體法規與政策等主題。

* 閱聽人與流行文化

  「閱聽人與流行文化」探討媒體與流行文化中閱聽人所扮演的角色,其典範歷經數次轉移。早期研究將閱聽人視為大眾媒體的被動接收者,甚至是媒體效果的依變項,後來主動閱聽人的概念興起,閱聽人成了具有選擇能力、建構意義的主體。到了Web 2.0時代,閱聽人更從接收端跨足到產製端,成為直接參與媒體內容的生產消費者。閱聽人研究的範疇相當多元,包括使用與滿足、意義解讀、迷、閱聽人商品、消費文化、次文化、身份認同、社交性、公民行動等,涵括不同的傳播研究取徑。而社群媒體、數位遊戲等新媒體形式興起下,閱聽人的角色將如何改變,也是本系關注的研究焦點。

* 互動科學

  「互動科學」重點在探討人經由傳播科技中介所進行的各式互動,以先進、新興的研究方法評估互動過程與效果(如使用者經驗與行為等),進而設計出適用的互動系統或媒體。本系以跨領域取徑,結合傳播學、認知心理學、社會學、資訊科學、設計學等角度思考人與人、人與媒介、人與環境、人與文化等的互動關係,分析傳播科技對人類的衝擊、提出解決問題的方案,並思索未來發展。此外,結合本系的傳播與認知實驗室、行為觀察實驗室、亞洲最先進的3D虛擬攝影棚以及數位媒體中心,以理論與實務兼備的特質,打造全國第一個以「互動科學」為研究主軸的知識體系。

* 互動經濟

  隨著數位傳播科技發展日新月異,媒體組織運作與傳播過程均發生劇烈改變;以強調互動特性的各類新興媒體與平台(例如社群媒體、智慧型手機、網路電視等)為中介的新型態傳播活動,則逐漸構成了所謂「數位經濟」的核心。為了即時掌握這些最新動態和趨勢,本系開發獨具特色的「互動經濟」研究領域,以媒體經濟、媒體管理、說服傳播等知識為基礎,並應用本系另一專長研究領域「互動科學」的相關理論與方法,探討數位傳播過程中生產、分配與消費等環節。主要研究議題包括新媒體經濟學、互動行銷與廣告、數位媒體產業經營與管理等。

* 娛樂科技

  「娛樂科技」從娛樂在內容與形式上的設計與創新出發,探究人們使用娛樂科技的過程及其產生的效果。分析層面由心理生理指標,到使用者在認知、態度和行為等面向的改變,最後延伸至對社會、文化等的正負面影響。特別是新興的數位遊戲(包含電腦、電視、手機、體感等)、社群網站、行動手持裝置及3D電視,如何對從孩童、成人、到老年人造成影響。更進一步,如何應用娛樂科技及研究成果,協助健康傳播、教育學習等達成更好的成效,也是我們關注的焦點。此研究領域期望對媒體心理學及認知心理學相關理論做出學術貢獻,並致力於社會及傳播各次領域的應用。